9/3: Foolish Longings

1 Kings 2:10-18

Reflection:
If an evil desire is not addressed in our hearts, it will eventually show up as foolishness in our words or actions. Is there anything in my heart that I want due to my selfish desires or ambitions?

Application:
“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness…” – Matt 6:33
“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.” – Phil 2:3-4
Always remember to value others above myself and seek the interests of others before myself. That will allow me to do nothing out of my own selfish ambition.

Prayer:
Dear God, pray that I will always do things because of your kingdom and to be more like Jesus. Give me wisdom to know when I am doing things out of selfish ambition. Give me godly friends to remind or rebuke me if I am.

Leave a Reply

