​14/3: A Discerning Heart

1 Kings 3:1-9

Reflection

Although Solomon did things that displeased the Lord (marrying the daughter of Pharaoh and offered sacrifices on the high places), his heart was still for the Lord (as he obeyed God’s commands) and the Lord honoured Solomon by asking him for what he wanted. Solomon’s request for wisdom also showed his heart, that it was for God’s people and not for himself.
Application

I want to make requests that will bless others. When I requests things for myself, I need to make sure that it does only benefit me but it will benefit the people around me as well. I pray for health so that I can serve Him better. I pray for wealth so that I can bless more people with it. I pray for wisdom so that I can help others better and not to show off that I am wise.
Prayer

Dear God, pls give me wisdom to make requests to you that not only benefit me but it will benefit the people around me.

Leave a Reply

