13/3: Let Go of Trivial Things

1 Kings 2:36-46

Reflection

Shimei went out to look for his slaves even though he promised Solomon that he will not and ignored Solomon’s warning on his life. I was reminded of Deuteronomy 30:19‭-‬20

“Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. Now I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, so that you and your descendants might live! You can make this choice by loving the Lord your God, obeying him, and committing yourself firmly to him. This is the key to your life. And if you love and obey the Lord , you will live long in the land the Lord swore to give your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.”

God has given us a choice to choose between life and death, between blessings and curses. And God’s wish is always that we choose life so that we and our descendants will live.

Application

I choose life when I choose to spend time with God daily. I choose life when I study God’s word, pray and also to watch sermons which inspire and encourage me. I choose life when I engage in spiritual conversations with people.  I choose life when I choose to spend time with my loved ones. I choose life when I choose to spend time and encourage the people I look after in church, and also those whom God has asked to me.

Prayer

Dear God, please help me to choose life each and every day.

 

Leave a Reply

