18/3: Measureless as the Sand

1 Kings 4:29-34


Reflection

God gave Solomon wisdom so great that his fame became a testimony to how wise God is. His wisdom enabled him to come up with wise proverbs, and write songs. His wisdom not only pertains to human life, but also plant life, knowledge about animals. People would come to listen to you as well if you are wise.

Application

“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge…” – Prov 1:7

“For the LORD gives wisdom; from his mouth comes knowledge and understanding.” – Prov 2:6

God is the source of all wisdom. I need to learn to get wisdom from God by listening to Him and fearing Him (showing reverence to Him). 

“but all who listen to me (wisdom) will live in peace, untroubled by fear of harm.” – Prov 1:33 (NLT)

To listen to God and gain wisdom would mean having able to live a life of peace (shalom). I need to reflect on what I am not feeling peaceful about, and ask God to give me wisdom to make decisions that pleases Him. 

I also need to learn to be humble enough to listen to people who have wisdom, so that I can learn from their wisdom that they have.

Prayer

Dear God, I pray for a reverent fear of you so that I can receive wisdom from you. I pray that I will be humble enough to listen to people who are wise so that I can learn from them. Give me peace in my heart when I make right decisions so that I know what pleases you. 

Leave a Reply

