5/4: The Prayer of God’s People

1 Kings 8:31-40

Reflection:
Solomon reflected these truths to us when he prayed the prayer
1) We will always sin because of our sinful nature
2) We need to repent and turn away from sin to God
3) God will always hear and forgive us from our sins if we repent
Solomon reminded me of my sinful nature and the consequences of it if I sin. But he also reminded me of my God who is faithful, gracious and always willing to forgive whenever I turn to him. Turning away from sin is critical and we need to be sorry for our sin when we come to God. Ps 66:18 (AMP) says that “If I regard sin and baseness in my heart [that is, if I know it is there and do nothing about it], The Lord will not hear [me].” So if we do nothing about our sin if we know it, that means we honour our sin above God and that is not acceptable before God.

Application:
To keep close to God and hence sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s prompting of sin in my heart and repent of it and do what He tells me to.

Leave a Reply

