10/4: The Humble King

Zechariah 9:9-12

Reflection:
Zechariah prophesied that Jesus was going to come riding on a donkey. The significance of a donkey (and not a horse) not only indicated that Jesus was humble, but also that Jesus came in peace. In verse 10 it clearly talks about Jesus destroying the battle chariots and weapons and bringing peace to the nations.

Application:
Let me serve God and His people humbly and in peace. But not in the sense that I do not upset anyone or cause people to feel uncomfortable but to bring them back to peace with people and God, to reconcile them to Jesus. Even though this week will be a busy week, let me learn to serve God humbly and not to complain about having too much to do, but be grateful that I’m given the opportunities to serve God and His people.

Prayer:
Dear Heavenly Father, I pray that I will learn from the humility of Jesus and also learn to bring what Jesus brings to people, which is peace. Let my heart be filled with thanksgiving that Jesus came to die for me, that he suffered for me even though He was completely righteous and sinless. Thank you for a wonderful Saviour, a righteous, victorious and humble Saviour.

Leave a Reply

