1/5: To Serve or Rule Over

1 Kings 12:1-9

Reflection:
Rehoboam was blinded by greed and he wanted to get more wealth from his people rather than giving them rest from their hard labour during Solomon’s reign. He rejected the wise advice given from the elders and consulted the young people that he grew up with instead. He pursued what he wanted to hear instead of what he needed to hear. If we are listening with the wrong motives, we will always find what we want to hear from some people.

Application:
1) To listen to advice even when it doesn’t sit well with me sometimes. I have to reflect on why it doesn’t feel comfortable and whether it’s due to my own desires. Prov 19:20 says “Get all the advice and instruction you can, so you will be wise the rest of your life.”
2) When I’m doing something, am I looking to gain from people or to give to people? Paul wrote in Romans 1:11-12 “I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong — that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith.” Paul is always seeking to give to make others strong, and he recognized that in doing that, both will be encouraged in the process. It seems like God’s logic works like this: If you seek to gain from people, you will let both (gaining and giving) to people. But if you seek to give to people, you will get both (gaining and giving). Another quote that I like from Jim Elliot: “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.”

Prayer:
Dear Heavenly Father, let me learn to give good advice to people and also let me never assume my advice is the best. Let me be sensitive to what You are telling me so that I can advice people according to Your voice and Your Word. Let me always seek to give to others to build them up in the faith. Let me also always learn to seek You first so that I am able to give because You first gave to me.

Leave a Reply

