1/6: Training to Depend on God

1 Kings 17:1-7

Reflection:
Elijah was asked to leave from where he was, go and hide in the place that God wanted him to. That was the place where God provided him bread and meat using the ravens in the morning and evening and provided him water using the brook. God provided water for him while the land was having neither dew nor rain.

Elijah was able to see God’s miracles because he moved from his comfort zone (where he was born) to a place where God commanded him to. The place where God called Elijah was Kerith, and that meant “cutting” or “separation”. It probably has the meaning that God wanting Elijah to be separated from the people of Israel who were worshipping idols. This was a place where he needed to be completely dependent on God.

Coming into full-time ministry for me was a step that I took when God asked me to and I have been seeing God performing miracles in my life and in people’s lives. It is also a place where I had to depend a lot on God, because I know if I am doing things that are not from God, I will cause more harm to His people than good. It’s only when I depend on Him that I will continue to see miracles and breakthroughs in people’s lives.

Prayer:
Dear God, I pray that I’ll stay dependent on You in everything that I do, everyone that I meet and everything that I say to them. I pray that I’ll be prepared to step into new ground, new places, new challenges when you ask me to. To trust that You will provide for all my needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” – Phil 4:19

Leave a Reply

